T-level results are out for the first time; this what are they are

What are T-levels, what does T-level mean, and are they any good?

What is a T-level?

A single T-level (T means 'technical') is worth the same as three A-levels. They are for 16 to 19-year-olds and taken after you finish your secondary school GCSEs. Over 250 employers were involved in putting them together so that you should be better prepared the skills required in the real-world industry.

T-levels take two years to complete and you'll spend 80% of that time in the classroom with the other 20% in a work placement (about 45 days) to get some hands-on experience in your chosen career. To be honest, 45 days isn't long enough but its better than nothing.

You can go directly into work, an apprenticeship, or even study further for a degree or other higher-education qualifcation after finish your T-level.

Are T-levels good?

They haven't been around long enough to answer this properly, but they were designed with 250 people and organisations covering various industries such as:

  • agriculture, environmental and animal care
  • business and administration
  • catering and hospitality
  • construction
  • creative and design
  • digital
  • education and childcare
  • engineering and manufacturing
  • hair and beauty
  • health and science
  • legal, financial and accounting

While there is no guarantee or evidence that you will be any better off doing a T-level than an apprenticeship or standard A-levels, they certainley look interesting and may keep you better engaged by varying time between studying and putting your skills to work in a company.

What are the T-level grades awarded?

T-level grades are given as pass, merit, distinction or distinction*. A mapping to A-level grades is below.

T-level gradeA-level
Distinction*A* A* A*
Pass (C or above on the “core”)CCC
Pass (D or E on the “core”)DDD

Which universities accept T-levels for entry?

The list is being updated continuously, but so far the universities that have confirmed T-levels are suitable for entry on to at least one degree course are:

  • Abertay University
  • Aberystwyth University
  • Anglia Ruskin University
  • Askham Bryan College
  • Aston University
  • Bangor University
  • Barnsley College
  • Bath Spa University
  • Birmingham City University
  • Bishop Burton College
  • Bishop Grosseteste University
  • Black Country and the Marches Institute of Technology
  • Blackpool and The Fylde College
  • Bournemouth University
  • Brunel University London
  • Buckinghamshire New University
  • Bury College University Centre
  • Canterbury Christ Church University
  • Cardiff Metropolitan University
  • Cardiff University
  • Chester University
  • City of Liverpool College
  • Coventry University
  • Craven College
  • De Montfort University
  • East Surrey College
  • East Sussex College Group
  • Edge Hill University
  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • Education Partnership North East
  • Falmouth University
  • Grantham College
  • Greenwich University
  • Hartpury University
  • Keele University
  • Kingston University
  • Lancaster University
  • Leeds Beckett University
  • Leeds Trinity University
  • Lincoln College
  • Liverpool Hope University
  • Liverpool John Moores University
  • London South Bank University
  • London South East Education Group
  • Loughborough University
  • Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Middlesbrough College
  • Middlesex University
  • NCG
  • Nelson and Colne College Group
  • New College of the Humanities
  • Newcastle University
  • New College Durham University Centre
  • Newman University
  • New Model Institute for Technology and Engineering
  • Northumbria University
  • Nottingham Trent University
  • Oxford Brookes University
  • Plymouth Marjon University
  • Roehampton University
  • Royal Academy of Music
  • Selby College
  • Solihull College & University Centre
  • South Central Institute of Technology
  • South Gloucestershire and Stroud College
  • Southampton Solent University
  • Sheffield Hallam University
  • Staffordshire University
  • St Mary’s University Twickenham
  • Swansea University
  • TEC Partnership
  • Teesside University
  • The Open University
  • UCEN Manchester
  • University Campus of Football Business
  • University Centre Weston
  • University College Birmingham
  • University of Bedfordshire
  • University of Birmingham
  • University of Bolton
  • University of Bradford
  • University of Brighton
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Central Lancashire
  • University College London
  • University of Chichester
  • University of Cumbria
  • University of Derby
  • University of East Anglia
  • University of East London
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Gloucestershire
  • University of Hertfordshire
  • University of Huddersfield
  • University of Hull
  • University of Kent
  • University of Law
  • University of Leicester
  • University of Leeds
  • University of Lincoln
  • University of Liverpool
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Northampton
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Plymouth
  • University of Portsmouth
  • University of Reading
  • University of Salford
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of South Wales
  • University of Southampton
  • University of Suffolk
  • University of Sunderland
  • University of Wales Trinity Saint David
  • University of Warwick
  • University of West England
  • University of West London
  • University of Westminster
  • University of Winchester
  • University of Wolverhampton
  • University of Worcester
  • University of York
  • Wakefield College
  • Wrexham Glyndwr University
  • Yeovil College University Centre
  • York College
  • York St John University

The big caveat here is that they only confirmed that T-levels will be acceptable as entry requirements on to one of their courses - not all.  The course you want to do may not accept T-levels. 

It would be best to find out from whichever university you want to study at whether or not they will accept a T-level for your preferred course before embarking on a T-level.


Be the first to comment!